Registered Manager Ange

Ange Cowan

How long have you worked for Premier Care?

I started working for Premier Care on the 28th of November 2016 as a carer for the Nottingham area. I then got a promotion to Care manager on 11th September 2017 and since then I have worked my way up and I became the Registered Manager for the Derbyshire South Branch in October 2018.

Ange Cowan

Ange Cowan

Tell us a bit about your previous work experience, what have you done previously? Have you worked in other industries? How has this carried over to your work in care? Or have you always worked in care? 

 When I left school, I went to college and completed levels 2 and 3 in Health and Social Care. After completing these, I felt I was not mature enough to work in the care sector at that time. I worked in catering for the next 12 years which I enjoyed and gained lots of customer service skills. Then I started to care for my elderly neighbour and her disabled husband, and I realised with her encouragement that I had matured enough to be able to work in the care sector.

I first worked in a care home which was not for me, but then I applied for a job in domiciliary care and found out I loved it!

The first care company I worked for, I was there for 4 years. I progressed through various roles from carer to senior, then on to care co-ordinator and then assistant manager. I then got promoted to Registered Manager I was proud of myself for what I had achieved in such a short period of time!

This spurred me on to always better myself and work towards what I wanted.

One of my fondest memories is of a lady that had a disabled son and she was in her 90’s and was struggling to manage to care for him on her own and her friend contacted my agency to ask if we could do live-in care. I went and met the lady and her son, and we set up a live-in package of care for her son. Unfortunately, he passed away 9 days into the package. This lady continued to have the live-in care after he had passed as she knew that with this she could remain in her own home and be safe. She was always so grateful to me for setting it all up. When I think of her I always smile as I realise, I am right where I need to be doing the most rewarding job there is and this makes me proud!

What qualifications do you have (Level 3, 4 in Adult Health and Social Care etc.) and when did you achieve these? What qualifications are you working towards?

I have NVQ level 2 which I achieved in 2012. Also an NVQ level 3 in Health and Social Care which I achieved in 2014. My NVQ level 5 is my most recent qualification, which I am extremely proud of and am registered with CQC*,  I am always eager to learn and develop my skills.

What do you enjoy the most about working in care and as a Registered Manager Ange? What do you enjoy the most about working for Premier Care?

The thing I enjoy most about working in care is knowing that I can make a difference in someone’s life. Especially in domiciliary care, the difference I make might not just be for the service user, but it could also be their families. I can offer support for them to help them to remain at home or with their loved ones. Being the thread that ties them together with family, social workers and other health professionals so ensure that they can remain safe whilst staying in their own home.

I enjoy working for Premier Care as they promote from within and offer the same opportunities to everyone. There is no discrimination and treat their staff and service users with the same family values they believe in

What’s different about Premier Care?

2020 has been a tough year due to COVID-19, but Premier Care has shown that even though its a pandemic they stand strong and put the safety of their staff and service users above everything else. They have offered support to their service users by regularly updating them throughout these unprecedented times. They have ensured that all their staff feel appreciated and rewarded for all their hard work and dedication, and by putting measures in place to ensure they feel protected.

We have learned about the registered manager Ange,  tell us a bit about yourself! 

I am 39 years old and live with my partner Gez and my 15-year-old stepson Joe. Originally, I’m from Lincolnshire and moved to Nottingham in 2016. I have a brother who lives with my mum and they are still in Lincolnshire.  Being very close to them, it has been hard not seeing them through COVID-19.

Travelling is one of my passions and I have been to lots of places. Malta is my favourite place and would move there if I could afford to! We have a motorhome and like to go away in this when possible

I love spending my time having my nails done and the more detailed the design the better.

I have 12 tattoos and each one reminds me of a special time or a special person. When I am older, I want people to ask me about them and I can tell them stories about each one and the special memories that were made

From the age of four, I have had a severe allergy to any animals that were furry/fluffy so growing up all I had was a goldfish called Bob – he was not very entertaining, to say the least!

If you want to make a differance in someones life, why not get in touch?