Meet our managers – Amanda

Amanda

How long have you worked for Premier Care?

I started working for Premier Care in December 2017 as a Care Support Worker in the Chesterfield area. After a year I applied for a Senior Carer role, supporting the live team in and out of the office. I was then given the great opportunity to work alongside the Quality Team as a Care Manager, creating person-centred packages for our new service users and completing reviews for our existing service user’s. I have been able to work alongside the Registered Managers and gain invaluable experience from them, with the hopes to be a CQC Registered Manager myself.   

Tell us a bit about your previous work experience, what have you done previously? Have you worked in other industries? How has this carried over to your work in care? Or have you always worked in care?

I have always worked in customer service prior to starting a Premier Care. At age 20 I was the Landlady of a Public House in Chesterfield. I had started working as bar staff at 18 and was lucky enough to become the owner of the business. I learnt many skills in this role, I had a love for connecting with people and enjoyed being able to meet people from all different walks of life. There were so many interesting stories I heard from the older generations, the Public House used to hold pigeon racing many years ago, it was fascinating to hear those tales.

After I had my daughter at 22, I left the Public House and started working for a small old-fashioned Newsagents in Chesterfield town centre. I worked here for 12 years until moving on to Premier Care. We specialised in tobacco and pipes and we had a regular client base. I made some amazing friends working here and was sad to leave, but I wanted a new challenge and my little boy had started school full time, so it was time for a change.

What qualifications do you have (Level 3, 4 in Adult Health and Social Care etc.) and when did you achieve these? What qualifications are you working towards?

I have my BTEC Level 2 Diploma in Health and Social Care, a TQUK Level 2 certificate in Care planning. I gained a higher distinction for a Level 3 award in Occupational Therapy and I have also completed an Advanced Safeguarding Adults Level 2 course. Recently, I started my Level 5 Diploma for Management in Health and Social Care. I am finding the Level 5 challenging but also very rewarding, my knowledge is growing daily, and I am enjoying learning management skills.

 What do you enjoy the most about working in care? What do you enjoy the most about working for Premier Care?

I wanted to work in care because of my Grandma. I spent a lot of time with her and I was her informal carer. Family had always commented on how good I was with her and that I should do it for a living. I have always gone the extra mile for people and when working in care you can really make a difference to someone’s day. Being a carer is about comforting people, giving them confidence, and making them smile. But for me, care is more about connecting with people, listening to their lives, and finding out what they have experienced.

The thing I enjoy the most about working for Premier Care, is the team ethic we have. Everyone works hard together to ensure we deliver excellent care. There is support on every level from the carers to the management. We are a team and everyone is appreciated.

 What’s different about Premier Care?

I looked at many different care agencies before deciding to work for Premier Care. The values that they hold strong resonated with me. It is a family run business; they have been operating for 20+ years and have gained a wealth of knowledge in that time. This family is right at the heart of the business and it shows in the care that is given. The service users are placed at the centre of their care to ensure we deliver respectful and responsive care. Premier Care puts a big emphasis on learning, teaching and inspiring new members of the team. I am proud to be a part of the team.

And tell us a bit about yourself!

I am 38, I am married to Dean, I have two children, a 15-year-old daughter and a 7-year-old son. My family have been very supportive of my career change into care and I could not have done it without them. We have our own home and have 2 cats and a Cockapoo named Lola. We like to go out to the Peak District when we can, Linacre reservoir is a favourite for the kids and dog. I love to read when I have chance. COVID-19 has made it hard to see family and friends and we have all had to adjust, but Zoom chats are the new going out. I am looking forward to seeing what 2021 will bring.